Tags

, , ,

Category: Floral Fruity Gourmand 

Notes: plum, blood orange, pink pepper, sandalwood, patchouli, red sake accord, bergamot, black currant, jasmine, musk and cedar.

The Bottle: Clunky, graceless cylinder with a tattoo style geisha peering out from behind heavily made-up eyes. Tackier than tacky.

The Scent: If this fragrance was in a different sort of package, it might well attract a larger following, as it’s surprisingly pleasing. I realize Ed Hardy caters to a sort of niche audience, but they have created a sunny, sweet, alluring little piece here, and I think the tattoo style art tends to repel the more sophisticated (read: snobbish like me) of their potential customers. As a bottle snob I don’t tend to buy anything I wouldn’t want seen sitting on my dresser, and I’m afraid to say that I find all the bottle designs for this brand a bit tacky. However, as someone who loses no opportunity to devour sweet things, I am an enormous sucker for anything that falls into the gourmand category (and let the perfume purists scoff all they want). The actual scent? Happy, juicy citruses and a flippant note of pink pepper combine to make this a delightful little fruity floral. Is it ground-breaking? No. But it’s pleasant and becomes quite soft after the first few minutes. A nice go-to for the girl who just wants to smell softly sweet, without making any kind of bold statement.

