Tags

, ,

Category: Oriental Floral

Notes: Incense, vanilla, leather, lemon, sandalwood, bergamot, orris, patchouli, jasmine, vetiver, rose, cedar, musk, civet, opoponax.

The Bottle:  A gorgeous classic, with every curve and nuance calculated to perfection. However one may feel about the fragrance itself, there is simply no denying that the package is stunning, a little hybrid French/Moroccan poem set to glass.

The Scent: Everyone touts this as a classic, but to me it’s a duet between incense and insecticide. I’ve tried to like it, and I just can’t. Like a fortune teller’s bedroom in a recently fumigated building. Its initial floral harshness is almost blinding, and the dry down is no better –  a smokey, sickly sweet, Aunt-Rita-lit-up-in-her-dressing-room-and-sprayed-perfume-to-cover-it vibe. Perhaps my nose is simply not mature enough to appreciate it, but I know what I like, and this isn’t it.

