Tags

,

Category: Floral Aldehyde

Notes: ylang-ylang, african orange flower, bergamot, lemon, aldehydes, iris, lily of the valley, orris root, jasmine, rose, civet, vetiver, musk, patchouli, sandalwood, oak moss, vanilla and amber.

The Bottle: It’s boxy as hell, but it’s FAMOUS boxy as hell. Once held in the hand of the divine Ms. Monroe, which is enough for me to worship it, boxy or no. ***

The Scent: Apologies to its fervent fans, but when I wore this to test it out, it was like being preceded into every room by a blaring, off-key trumpet player. People smelled me coming. Intensity can be sexy, but I like to smell flowers, not be beaten over the head with them. The burst of aldehydes made my eyes water, and it dried down to a soapy mess on my arm. The idea of the civet freaks me out, too. I realize it’s a classic, and I would love to be able to savour its genius along with everyone else, but it just makes me feel ill. **

