Tags

, ,

Category: Floral

Notes: mandarin, pear, ginger, saffron, jasmine, vetiver

The Bottle: Nothing particularly exotic or even classic about this – it’s played entirely safely. A neat, tight, compact little package that offends no one. It doesn’t seem to me to radiate pure femininity, as the designer claims was his intention – rather the opposite in fact. The most feminine women I know tend not to be neat, compact, or tight, and they tend to freely and frequently offend whomever they choose. ***

The Fragrance: This is a bit of a wolf in sheep’s clothing, for it claims to be a Floral, but comes across entirely as an Oriental in composition. Proud and rather more exotic than I was anticipating, Idole sashays in with ginger and sashays out with saffron, a highly spiced and organic composition. Rather like a veiled woman, it brims with intrigue, and is crowned by a muted sensuality. The pear is an uneasy guest in the midst of headier, earthy spice blends, and doesn’t overstay its welcome. I’m not sure I’d seek to wear it myself, because I tend to like my scents a little racier, less covered up. That said, it’s a nice one – the sort of scent that lingers under desert palms. ****

